2018 1213 - Cover JPG.jpg

Emotional sobriety is the gold-standard for life and living…

Just a few weeks ago my newest book was released. Progressive Recovery through the Twelve Steps: Emotionally Sober for Life turns out to be a capstone to my life, not just as a recovering alcoholic, but as a guy who has been called to the Spirit for the whole of my life. In truth, I was surprised to discover that the book represents that calling, albeit through the lens of recovery and the twelve steps. I was also surprised by the depth of my feelings about this work and its meaning to me. The foreshadowing for that came in a blog last fall, which related “If it’s your life’s work, it will take your life.

Emotional sobriety is a gold standard for life and living.

The point is not simply emotional balance throughout our lives, but likewise to maintain a vantage point that allows us be fully available to life in any given moment.

All proceeds from the sale of the book go towards creating free recovery-based content for progressiverecovery.org

To Learn more about Ron's work, as well as his two current books, check out the "The Road to Wonder!"



The Author's Show

"What would you do if you received a letter, and the writer was a serial killer?" Thus begins Ron's interview on The Author's Show, an in-depth conversation about the inspiration and experience for Ron's novel "A Killer's Grace." Listen below!

Ronald Chapman's two new titles, "A Killer's Grace," and "My Name is Wonder," are available at online sellers, and may also be found in an independent bookstore near you. Please click here to find a local bookseller near you:  http://www.indiebound.org/indie-bookstore-finder

This inspirational fable, based on the life of an inquisitive goat named Wonder, brings joy and discovery to the reader. Wonder longs to expand his world beyond the barnyard, much to the dismay of his animal companions who are not as curious as he. During his first adventure, he is saved from a hungry owl by a wise crow who then becomes his friend and guide as he embarks on a series of excursions away from the farm.

They decide to go on a quest to the mountains and meet new friends who teach them important lessons. During the journey, the goat learns the difference between Presence and appearance through his blunders and insights. When he thinks he has lost his way, a bear teacher instructs him, “The path is every step. Lift your vision above the muck.” Wonder pledges to keep his eye on the mountain top ahead. 

He returns to the barnyard and again sets out on another adventure of discovery, explaining that “I cannot ignore the call of my Soul.” With courage and gratitude for his new insights, Wonder teaches us how to live life fully, without fear, as we follow our call into the Light.

I’m not trapped, M.C. I never was. And I never will be again.
— Wonder from "My Name is Wonder"

For Kevin Pitcairn, the letter from a serial killer awaiting execution comes with implications he can’t ignore. The writer’s guilt is clear―at least in a legal sense. But the questions he raises draw Pitcairn into a compelling journey of investigation whose profound psychological and spiritual implications hurl his live into upheaval.

As he tries to determine and tell the killer’s true story, Pitcairn plunges deeper into the pit his own demons have created and trapped him in. His journalist’s curiosity becomes a compulsion as events bind him tighter and tighter, propelling him from New Mexico’s stark high desert into an increasingly hostile wider world. Murder, mystery, and redemption shape Pitcairn’s struggle to answer the moral questions left festering by the killer’s horrible crimes: What is the nature of evil? What choices do any of us truly have? How can we reconcile with our most painful wounds and the people who have inflicted them?

Walking the West Mesa always brought a measure of clarity for Pitcairn. Today was no different. He glanced toward the city, its lights twinkling as its residents slowly awoke. He had questions to ask before the day ended and the weekend began.
— Pitcairn from "A Killer's Grace"